Along came TEMPTATION

“Come off the front porch; put your big girl panties on!” was the bait he cast (let’s just call him Andre). Wait, was he calling me a little girl? Was he calling my bluff?  I was going to prove him wrong. I’m a GROWN woman and I will show him!

At a time in my life when I was MOST Passionate and on FIRE for GOD, I was led astray. He (satan) fooled me. I thought I was being smart. I’d thought, “This is innocent. It’s only a few messages back and forth on FaceBook”. What’s the harm? So, there I was; night after night, in Andre’s inbox. I couldn’t wait. I knew this was NOT how it was supposed to go. I’m pretty sure the Bible reads, “He that finds a wife”.  But, I’d listened to the well-meaning advice of others and I was lead away by my own desires. I’d convinced myself, “this has to be GOD, it’s perfect timing”. Sadly to admit, that’s all it took. Of course that’s not the end of the story but my whole point in alluding to this is that satan is CUNNING and DECEPTIVE! We seem to think that we aren’t going to like what he’s offering but it WILL ALWAYS BE WHAT WE DESIRE. Eve simply desired a taste of the fruit. I simply wanted to show up in Andre’s life ‘just enough’ for him to see that we were meant to be! Sidebar: To all my male readers, that Fairytale in our minds is real 🙂

Ever wonder why the enemy is so successful with causing man to fall? 2 Reasons

  • he knows his opponent
  • we’re caught off guard

1st Peter 5:8 summarizes it all: “Be sober (free from excess, extravagance or exaggeration) be vigilant (keenly watchful to detect danger; wary); because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.

We somehow believe that because we have given our life to the LORD for HIS Glory and HIS use that we are immune to temptation. Sorry to shatter your daydream but once you declare allegiance to the LORD, the battle has just begun! I know you’ve heard this many a times before but the enemy doesn’t bother you while you’re riding the fence in the world. Your indecision to make a decision by default lands you on his team. Once you decide that you want to be traded (rather bought) to the other team, he’s going to wage WAR! This is the thing; it won’t always feel like nor resemble a fight. He’s not going to come Roaring your way announcing his attack (for satan himself transforms himself into an angel of light 2nd Corinthians 11:14) and he’s never going to present anything unable to allure you.

That’s not to be discouraging because our Father has already given us the battle plan. Ephesians 6:10-13 says “Be strong in the LORD and in the power of His Might. Put on the whole armor of GOD, that you may be able to stand against the wiles (deceitful cunning; trickery) of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities (the position or authority of a prince or chief ruler; hence the title prince of the air), against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age; against spiritual hosts (armies) of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of GOD; that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand”.

Does anyone besides me recognize today as the “evil days”? Any and everything goes! Prayer has been removed from the classroom, courtroom and workplace; which has transitioned into our homes and personal lives. The secular world has adopted nomenclature that was traditionally used within the community of believers; put a DOPE beat behind it and now everyone is running around rapping “Blessings”. It doesn’t stop there; allow man to take the credit when you chime in with “Hallelujah” by an artist who calls himself “the king”. Who do you think the culprit behind that was? Now, let me be the first to admit that I’m guilty of bobbing my head to the tune of a hot song. However, “willing and knowingly” praise man? (I know, I know) You’ll say I’m being too deep. It’s just a song; right?

We’re in awe of the courageous men and women who, when tempted, declared their allegiance to GOD; Daniel in the Lion’s den; Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego in the fiery furnace; the tribulation of Job; to name a few. But why do we crouch back when it’s our turn to declare “For GOD I live and for GOD I will die?” This doesn’t actually mean a physical death (not yet in the U.S.) but it means dying to our flesh; to reject the world and to be rejected by the world. “It’s okay if you pray but just don’t use the name Jesus. It’s okay if you give money to the poor but just don’t tithe. It’s okay if you help those in need but just don’t evangelize”. That’s the way of the World!

So, how do we combat Temptation?

  1. Recognize the tempter.

James 1:13-14 “Let no man say when he is tempted, “I am tempted by GOD”; for GOD cannot be tempted by evil , nor does He Himself tempt anyone. But each one is tempted when he is drawn away by his own desires and enticed”.

  1. Release the guilt; sin isn’t found in the temptation, but rather the act.

Matthew 26:41 “Watch and pray, lest you enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak”.

1 Corinthians 10:13 “No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but GOD is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it”.

  1. Recognize your Authority thru JESUS and take Action!

2nd Corinthians 10:5 “Casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ, and being ready to punish all disobedience when your obedience is fulfilled”.

Luke 10:19 “Behold, I give you the authority to trample on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy, and nothing shall by any means hurt you”.

Therefore, whether your temptation is a relationship, financial gain, success, power or popularity; take heed, lest you stumble from the path of following HIS New In Living Way….

8 thoughts on “Along came TEMPTATION

  1. crob921 says:

    Yet again, another great post with valid points. The enemy will always try to present us with what we desire all wrapped up with a pretty bow and we most definitely have to recognize the tempers. Lord knows I’ve been caught off guard many times. Thank God for saving grace. Keep the posts coming Meki !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. debralmarshall says:

    Great post! Knowing your tempter…what you say nie?! Excellent point! And he knows his opponents, very well…I often underestimate him and I’ve realized it’s because of my desires. This is eye opening, Meks!!! Good job again!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. anngell80 says:

    Well said! Satan does know his opponents. Thanks for sharing this story and the scriptures to equip us to handle Satan head on. We have stand and fight every attack of the enemy. Love this!!! May God continue to bless you!😊

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment