Valley Experiences

valley

“Not that I doubt your ability; but I’m curious to know how you’re going to take me from Here to There?  I wonder where “there” is on this Earth. What does there look like? Who will be there? Will I recognize it? I imagine there is a place where every step I take and every move that I make is ordered by You! I image there will be filled with answers to questions that have long existed even if I’ve never actually “asked”. I imagine there is the place where the light-bulb is always ON, creating a melody of “Ah-ha” moments. I imagine there will be worth all the effort, all the pain and all the toiling. I imagine there to be the place of “Blessed Assurance” that I am centered within Your perfect will; no “?” marks. Is anyone awaiting me there? Am I the missing puzzle piece? I believe there I will be able to look back and see the “seed-time-harvest” seasons of my journey”……………

This is a conversation that I was having with the Lord in my journal. Has anyone ever been in a situation so long that the hope and faith that once fueled the desire now feels more like a bad dream?  I imagine this was the very sentiments of the children of Israel each and every year they wandered aimlessly through the wilderness. It should have only been an eleven day journey to the Promised Land. Because of their idol worship, sexual immorality, disrespect and rebellion, the children of Israel circled that same mountain for 40 years. They never made it into the Promise!

While writing this, I wrestled to understand what specifically was the 1 sin that prevented GOD “in all His faithfulness” from giving them what HE had promised? I didn’t understand. I could lead you on a journey thru the bible to explain my confusion but I’ll just tell you; I’m spoiled. Maybe you are as well. See, I’m used to the GOD of Grace. But at this point in history (the Old Testament), Grace=CHRIST himself had not yet entered the picture. This was HUGE to me; HUGE!!! The children of Israel were under the law. Their disobedience and rebellion toward GOD was intolerable. He saw the wickedness of their hearts and knew that they were unchanging. Therefore, He had to kill that spirit in the wilderness.

Contrary to popular belief, the Christian life is not a continuous series of miraculous answers to prayer, pain free living and abundant overflow. There will be disappointments and many seasons of uncertainty. There are mountains to climb and most importantly, there will be growing pains.  Sometimes it’s in those places of indecision, isolation, loneliness, etc. that God pulls you away from the life you’ve known.  He has to get us to that space of nakedness, vulnerability and insecurity where we will look to HIM. Until we get there, we’ll continue to run back to the familiar things, people, places or vices that keep us bound. A lot of us (I used to be in this category) have subscribed to the lie that GOD is to worship us. Yes! It’s true. Maybe you’ll understand it this way, “we feel that because we’ve given our lives to Christ, GOD should want to give us everything that we want and desire in order for us to be happy”. Honestly, I still have to remind myself ever so often that we were created for His pleasure and not He for ours (Revelation 4:11).

 Valley [val-ee]- an extensive depression (relatively low) region between hills or mountains.

A valley in the earth realm is a place of climate extremes, diminished sunlight, sometimes arid and void of life. In the spiritual realm, the valley is a place of seclusion from the world, where the hand of God can freely move. The world annoys this process by alluring us with attractive temptations as a distraction from focusing on what GOD wants to perform. In the valley, there is clear vision; nothing or no one to obscure the view and/or direction. This also means there is nowhere to run and hide; no appointments, no obligations nor excuses.  The Greek word for “new” does not mean something more recent in time but rather having a new nature. In order to have a new nature, one must be transformed. In order to be transformed, one must go thru a refining process. The valley is where GOD will take you in order to complete the work.

First, HE has to strip us. He has to peel away the facade of the many versions of ourselves that we’ve built. The valley is where you denounce all idol worship. The idols of: money, fame, material possessions, power, status, “likes” and people pleasing.  He will uproot pride and plant humility. He will strip away greed and sow gratitude. He will destroy hatefulness in order to develop love.

In the valley, you are able to see Him face to face; to become intimate with Him. It is in this wilderness that He can have a conversation with His spirit within you. Here, He will give you plans and direction, purpose and passion. While writing this, it dawned on me. All this time, all these years, I’ve been busy taking my list of wants and needs to GOD. Never once did I ask Him, “Father, what do you want for my life? What are your plans?” Wow, I almost missed it!! In that very moment, HE showed me there is not a place. There is a decision. It is the place where “I. SURRENDER. MY. WILL” (my plans, desire, thoughts and dreams for how I want my life to go) for His. That’s what it’s all about!

The valley is the route GOD takes us in order to get from here to there. You can’t get there without traveling thru the wilderness and/or valley. Transformation takes place during the Transition:

Every valley shall be exalted and every mountain and hill shall be made low; and the crooked shall be made straight, and the rough places plain. Isaiah 40:4

I will open rivers in high places, and fountains in the midst of the valleys: I will make the wilderness a pool of water, and the dry land springs of water. Isaiah 41:18

For the Lord shall comfort Zion: he will comfort all her waste places; and he will make her wilderness like Eden, and her desert like the garden of the Lord; joy and gladness shall be found therein, thanksgiving, and the voice of melody. Isaiah 51:3

Some of us will trek the wilderness as long as is necessary for GOD to kill off and purge us of everything that cannot be taken into His Promise. But the Lord is faithful and He will not take anything from you without Giving you His BEST in return. Let’s trust GOD, leave the valley and walk in His New in Living Way !! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Valley Experiences

  1. Starr says:

    This is good “There is a choice. It is the place where “I. SURRENDER. MY. WILL” (my plans, desire, thoughts and dreams for how I want my life to go) for HIS.”
    I enjoyed reading this Meki!
    Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Raymond Rowell Jr. says:

    WOW!!!!!!! This is an AMAZING read!!!! Continue to allow God to use you to pour into your readers lives!!!!!!! Thank You for sharing your blog with me!!!!! It’s truly A BLESSING!!!!!!!😊😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment